SPORTING success in the Wee County was celebrated during a special event last week.

There were smiles and applause all around at the Alloa Town Hall on Wednesday, March 28.

The annual Clackmannanshire Sports Awards marked achievements from a range of disciplines and winners came from across the county.

More than 340 attendees and the 136 nominees filed into the decorated venue on the night.

Thirteen accolades were up for grabs during the awards ceremony, which was organised by the Clackmannanshire Sports Council.

The first to be handed out was the Junior Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by the Advertiser, which received 23 nominations.

Billie Denholm was named the lucky winner thanks to her contribution to boxing.

The Senior Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Braveheart, was given to Jamie Bhatti for his rugby role.

The Russel and Aitken sponsored Team of the Year Award went to Alloa & District Rifle Club B Team, which beat eight other contenders.

The Triumph Over Adversity (Participation) accolade, sponsored by Meggan Dawson-Farrell received a total of seven nominations.

Announced as the winner was Eilidh Duncan, for various sports.

Following this, the Triumph Over Adversity (Sports Competitor) Award, supported by The Thistle & Rose Commandery, The Order of St. George, was handed over to Lewis McDermid due to his athletics and judo success.

Jane Binnie, athletics, was given the Services to Sport accolade which was sponsored by SALSC.

The next award was the Primary School Team of the Year award, sponsored by Judy Collier, secured by Redwell PS Canoe Team.

The Alva Academy U14 Football Team was given the Secondary School Team of the Year award, with sponsors the Wee County Harriers.

Coach of the Year award (Participation), sponsored by Alloa & District Rifle Club, went to Craig and Adele McCandlish for badminton.

Backed by Enid Barton, the Coach of the Year award (Competition) was received by Jamie Marshall for swimming.

Meanwhile, Lucy Walker netted the Young Leader/Volunteer (Junior) award, sponsored by Active Schools, batting off 18 other nominees.

And, winning the Young Leader/Volunteer (Senior) category award, sponsored by Stephen Campbell, was Aidan Hunter for badminton success.

Rounding off the ceremony was the Lifetime Contribution to Sport award, sponsored by Clackmannanshire Provost Tina Murphy, bestowed upon Willie McAulay for shooting.