The Clackmannanshire Primary Schools Sports Association Cross Country Championships were held on Tuesday 11th December 2012 at Cochrane Park in Alva.

Over 350 children from Primaries five, six and seven were entered into the event to represent their school. Despite being a frosty day, the weather conditions were ideal for running, with 16 of the 19 local primary schools represented.

Most of the primaries have running clubs and many pupils had been in training for several weeks for the event. Education, Sport and Leisure Convener, Councillor Ellen Forson, said: "I'd like to say a big well done to all the athletes who participated in the event.

"It was a particularly cold day but despite this everyone was really enthusiastic.

"The hard work of the teachers and coaches was evident to see with an impressive class of running. "Sincere thanks and praise go to all the volunteers, helpers, coaches and Sports Development staff who supported and helped encourage the runners throughout the course." Councillor Forson attended the event to present awards to the pupils. Those placed 4th to 10th in each event received a lapel badge, with those finishing in the top three places winning medals in each event. The overall school team winning each race were awarded trophies.

The championships were also a qualifier for the Forth Valley Schools Cross Country event, to take place on Friday 8th March 2013 at Bo'ness Recreation Centre.

For the Forth Valley Cross Country, the top 20 P6 girls, P6 boys, P7 girls, P7 boys qualified to represent Clackmannanshire.

Results: P5 Girls 1st Grace Tindall Strathdevon PS 2nd Marisa Field, Alva PS 3rd Lauren Cooley, Strathdevon PS P5 Boys 1st Adam Hutchinson, Alva PS 2nd Logan Downie, Menstrie PS 3rd Aiden Snaddon, Deerpark PS P6 Girls 1st Holly McLachlan, Muckhart PS 2nd Ruth Duthie, Muckhart PS 3rd Alice Wilson, Muckhart PS P6 Boys 1st Ciaran Bisland, Clackmannan PS 2nd Ross McKnight, Strathdevon PS 3rd Jamie Penman, Deerpark PS P7 Girls 1st Amy Malone, Alva PS 2nd Hannah Miller, Alva PS 3rd Jade Lockie, Sunnyside PS P7 Boys 1st Andrew Currie, Sunnyside PS 2nd Layton Wardrop, Abercromby PS 3rd Kai Fullerton, Abercromby PS Winning Teams P5 Girls Strathdevon PS P5 Boys Alva PS P6 Girls Muckhart PS P6 Boys Alva PS P7 Girls Alva PS P7 Boys Strathdevon PS