A WEE COUNTY woman celebrated her 105th birthday with a garden party at her daughter's home and met the fifth generation of her family for the first time.

Irene McKie celebrated the birthday with her family on Sunday, May 16.

She was joined by her family, including daughter Catriona, granddaughter Suzanne, great-granddaughter Eilidh and one-week-old great-great-granddaughter Blaire.

Blaire arrived as an early birthday present to Irene, as she was due to be born tomorrow, May 20, but arrived early and was born on Sunday, May 9, one week before Irene's birthday.

Daughter Catriona said her mum enjoyed herself and was glad to be joined by her family as restrictions eased.

Irene was born in Edinburgh in 1916 and moved to the Wee County a number of years ago to be closer to family.

She now lives at Trust Housing in Tillicoultry where she's been for five years.

Catriona said: "She enjoyed her birthday very much, we had it here in the back garden at our house. That was the first time we'd all been together."

Irene, her late husband William and a young Catriona moved to Abington, Lanarkshire, when Catriona was young. They ran Glengonnar School Camp where children from all over Scotland would come to visit.

Catriona said: "I think that's when they were happiest when they ran the school camps."

William was a piper and the family travelled all over the country in a caravanette for piping events.

They also loved to country dance and danced in front of the queen. They also taught country dancing for the village at Abington.

Irene's late brother Willie Woodburn was a professional footballer, making more than 300 appearances for Rangers and also playing for Scotland.

They then moved to Clacks to be near Catriona's family once they had retired. After William passed away, Irene moved in with Catriona and then moved into Trust Housing around five years ago.

For so many, this past year has been especially tough and thankfully for Irene, Catriona's been able to visit her at Trust Housing and deliver her shopping and take her out for the day.

Catriona added: "It's been okay; I've been able to go in and visit her and take her out in the car on a regular basis.

"She's been climbing the walls – she would have been going out every day if she had the chance. She loves going out in the car with a picnic."