NEARLY two dozen Clacks venues and sites will throw their doors open for visitors this weekend.

Doors Open Days is set to return for the 32nd year with the Wee County programme co-ordinated by Clackmannanshire Heritage Trust.

Alva Ice House, the Johnstone Mausoleum, historic medieval towers and churches are all among the properties and places taking part this year.

EDIT: Alloa Fire Station is unable to take part due to Covid-19 restrictions, information suggesting otherwise was published by error. 

In-person events will take place across Saturday and Sunday, September 25 and 26, with organisations and volunteers offering free access after a year's absence due to Covid-19.

Susan Mills, area co-ordinator from Clackmannanshire Heritage Trust, said: “We are so pleased to be back and taking part again in Doors Open Days, after a very challenging 18 months for everyone.

“We are delighted that so many people and organisations have agreed to participate and are grateful for their continuing enthusiasm and support.

“We are also happy to have some new events and venues in the programme and hope that everyone will welcome lots of visitors during the weekend.”

At the weekend, there will be special openings and guided tours of the medieval Clackmannan and Sauchie Towers while the impressive Alloa Tower is also in the programme again.

For those looking to stay outdoors, heritage walks will also take place in Alloa, Clackmannan and Dollar.

The Alloa walk will take participants from the site of the Watermill Pit in Sauchie down to the harbour.

The historic and heritage walks in Clackmannan and Dollar will explore the special places and stories of each town.

Also in the programme will be guided tours of Alva Ice House, built circa 1820, as well as the Alva Old Kirkyard and Johnstone Mausoleum.

The ice house will be open for guided tours on both days between 12noon and 4pm, but is not suitable for visitors with mobility difficulties.

The kirkyard will see guided tours on Saturday from 10am and 11am.

The mausoleum was originally built in 1791 with columns of the Greek Doric order flanking the entrance.

It was designed by Robert and James Adam for John Johnstone, who was buried there with his wife and later six of their descendants.

A wide range of churches will also be welcoming visitors.

Alloa Moncrieff United Free Church is taking part again after a long absence and is holding a coffee morning in the church hall on Saturday from 10am until 12noon.

Also in Alloa, St Mungo’s Parish, Ludgate and St John’s Episcopal churches will be showcasing their splendid interiors and unique stories.

Sauchie and Coalsnaughton Parish Church and St Serf’s Church in Tullibody will be welcoming visitors as well, along with Clackmannan Parish Church, which will be providing soup and sandwich lunches on the Saturday from 12noon to 2pm.

Dollar Museum will be open with its interesting displays while Tullibody Heritage Centre will be showcasing its special Tullibody in the 1960s exhibition.

Booking is essential to visit Clackmannan Tower and to go on the heritage walks.

Visit for more details.