A CLACKS school has been made one of the finalists for the Best Breakfast Club in Scotland.

The Clackmannanshire Schools Support Service (CSSS) has been shortlisted as part of the annual Breakfast Club Awards, organised by Kellogg’s.

The school’s breakfast club is attended by around 25 children each morning before school and provides students with a full breakfast before they are ready to learn.

Eva Rule, from CSSS, said: “We are really excited and incredibly proud to be shortlisted in this year’s Kellogg’s Breakfast Club Awards.

“Writing our entry gave us a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the fantastic children who attend every morning, not to mention the hard-working staff.

“If we’re lucky enough to win the award for Best Breakfast Club in Scotland, we’ll spend the prize money on offering a variety of healthy snack options throughout the school year, especially as healthy foods tend to be more expensive.”

Kellogg’s Breakfast Club Programme first launched 25 years ago in 1998. To celebrate, the cereal giants are also launching a special Breakfast Club Hero award to run alongside the annual prize giving.

Research found nearly four in ten teachers across the UK claim to see children coming to school hungry every day.

Heather Murphy, UK corporate social responsibility manager for Kellogg’s, said: “So many clubs in the UK deserve recognition and after receiving 400 applications, it’s been tough to pick our finalists from so many inspiring stories.

“Breakfast clubs like Clackmannanshire Schools Support Service play a vital role in society.

“Thanks to the staff’s dedication, these clubs support working parents, feed hungry children and offer opportunities to increase informal learning with activities and socialisation.

“Kellogg’s has supported Breakfast Clubs for 25 years and this year we’ve seen the clubs face more challenges than ever before, so we are delighted to be able to recognise them all for the hard work and dedication they have put in to keep things going.”

The 48 shortlisted entries from the UK will be judged by a specialist panel and the winners will be announced in April.