THIRTEEN new community councillors were elected across four community councils this week.

The results of the local elections were announced today (Friday, September 29), filling vacancies at Alva, Clackmannan, Muckhart and Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton and Devonside community councils.

The 13 incomers will take up their positions immediately, joining existing councillors in a term of office which is set to last until the next regular election, scheduled for 2025.

Provost Donald Balsillie said: “It is encouraging to see new people come forward to help their communities.

“Our community councils need a breadth of experience and skills to help them rise to the challenges that face communities and to help them seize the opportunities that present themselves.

“This membership boost will help to share the extensive workload in the four community council areas, and Clackmannanshire Council wishes them all the best for their new roles.”

A call for people to apply for the positions at the community councils was put out at the start of September.

Five councillors were elected for Clackmannan Community Council, four for Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton and Devonside, three for Muckhart and just one for Alva.

Community councils operate by the governance framework which ensures they legitimately and democratically represent their respective areas.

This requires people to go through a thorough and open election process to become community councillors.

Anyone interested in more information on community councillors or how to become one can visit


Newly-elected members



Emma Osborne


Claire Martin
Helen McLean
Lesley Gilroy
Moira Findlay
Seonagh Currie


Craig Chamberlain
Celia Norton
Marion Riddell


Gillian McAuslane
Helen Saunders
Maria Leel
William Lamb