A TULLIBODY school has won the annual Scobbie Cup, with its star footballers lifting the illustrious trophy.

Each year, the trophy is contested by each of the local primary schools, pitting them against each other in an inter-school football tournament.

Abercromby Primary School went into the 2024 competition as title holders, seeing off Banchory PS in the final last year.

However, they didn’t manage to retain their title with St Bernadette’s RC Primary stepping up and lifting the coveted trophy.

Held on May 24, the Scobbie Cup is a long running tradition for Tullibody primaries, featuring teams from St Serf’s, Abercromby, St Bernadette’s and Banchory primaries.

Afterwards, St Bernadette’s pupils were buzzing with their performance and couldn’t believe they had won it for their school.

Riley, a primary 7 pupil at the school, said: “As I held the Scobbie Cup trophy, it didn’t feel like it was real.

“I was so shocked and happy at the same time.”

St Bernadette’s played Banchory PS during their first match and triumphed in a 2-0 victory before prevailing in a thrilling 5-2 win over St Serf’s.

Elsewhere, eventual runners up Abercromby had beaten both St Serf’s and Banchory, setting up a final between themselves and St Bernadette’s.

Despite both teams looking strong, neither could break through and the match ended in a goalless draw.

Commenting on the match, Eliette said: “It was a tough game but we managed to pull through.”

This was the first time the Scobbie Cup final had finished level on points, with St Bernadette’s winning on goal difference.

Daniel commented: “All our hard work has finally paid off – we have been waiting for this ever since we found out about the Scobbie Cup.”

The cup competition was started more than 30 years ago by former councillor Alexander Scobbie.

It is now mainly managed by his family, in particular his granddaughter Michelle Scobbie, who oversaw the football tournament.

This was the second taste of glory that week for St Bernadette’s pupils, who just two days earlier had won the CPSSA Wee Schools’ Athletics Trophy.