EWEN Cameron has kept his place on the SPFL board ahead of football's long-awaited return.

Alloa Athletic's secretary will be one of two Championship representatives in the forthcoming season, joining Dunfermline Athletic's chairman Ross McArthur. 

Cameron previously served on the board and the news comes shortly after Wasps chairman Mike Mulraney was announced as the temporary president of the Scottish FA.

READ MORE: Alloa chairman Mike Mulraney steps up to SFA president role

Elsewhere, Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell was voted onto the SPFL board at the governing body's AGM on Monday. 

Steve Brown of St Johnstone and Les Gray of Hamilton will also represent the country's top league, while Ken Ferguson of Brechin City will represent League 1 and League 2. 

Gordon Thompson of Clyde has been elected as the alternate director for the lower leagues. 

Alloa and Hillfoots Advertiser: Peter Lawwell Peter Lawwell

They have been elected to serve on the board alongside chairman Murdoch MacLennan, chief executive Neil Doncaster and independent non-executive director Karyn McCluskey.

MacLennan said: “Our game is facing a series of challenges unlike anything it has ever experienced, and everyone involved in Scottish football is working tirelessly to restart matches soon. 

READ MORE: Kevin O'Hara thanks Peter Grant after he joins Dunfermline Athletic

 “The SPFL directors have a key role to play in navigating those challenges and I’m pleased to welcome them on board for what promises to be a unique season ahead. 

 “Thanks to the dedication of thousands of people involved in our game, we are within touching distance of matches being resumed. It’s vital that we maintain that vigilance and discipline as we move towards a greater semblance of normality for our teams and for the supporters up and down the country who form the backbone of our sport.”