SPORTING greatness across the Wee County was celebrated in an outstanding awards ceremony, recognising achievements from primary school age all the way up to adults.

Organised by the Clackmannanshire Sports Council, individuals, clubs, teams and coaches were praised for their contribution to athleticism over the past year.

Awards were handed out over a range of categories – including triumph over adversity, team of the year and junior sports personality.

The event was attended by a range of sponsors, who each stepped up to present an award, with background info regarding each nomination read out to thunderous applause.

Paddy Sherrard, chair of the Clackmannanshire Sports Council, said: “At the Clackmannanshire Sports Council Sports Awards for 2023, yet again the Wee County proved that we punch far above our weight as far as the sporting prowess and commitment of our athletes and dedication of our volunteers.

“We heard great tales of how our young volunteers in our schools freely gave up their time to organise sports clubs for others; of triumphs over adversity at the Forth Valley Disability Athletics Championships; of coaches who serve as mentors, guides, and friends, inspiring greatness in our athletes; and of athletic feats on a local, national and international stage, that are founded on countless hours of sweat, sacrifice, and unwavering determination.

“The standard of nominations were as high as ever this year and I thank the other volunteers on the Sports Council for their time in judging.

I would like to thank our sponsors and the team from the council’s Sports and Leisure Team for helping setting up and deliver the event.

“I must single out Kenny Cook, our secretary for special mention – without his devotion, administrative eye for detail and guiding hand, it wouldn’t have been the success it was.

“Well done to every nominee, to our top three who we focused on this evening and our award winners, I am sure that everyone who attended the evening will have been inspired to even greater and better feats next year.”

Attendees also got an exciting 3D video tour of the new Wellbeing Hub project, taking guests through the facilities.

The winners of each award were as follows:

Primary School Team of the Year – Sponsored by Judy Collier

Winner: Redwell Primary School Athletic’s Team – won the County Sports event at Lornshill Academy in May against 18 other schools, winning by nearly 50 points.

Also included in the top three were Redwell Badminton and Lochies Leopards.

Secondary School Team of the Year – sponsored by Wee County Harriers

Winner: Lornshill Academy S1 Boys Team – Football – Won 5 knock out rounds in the Scottish Shield, progressing to the last 8 of the tournament.

Also included in the top three were Alloa Academy Badminton Team and Alloa Academy Senior Girls Badminton Doubles.

Triumph Over Adversity (Participation) – Sponsored by Meggan Dawson-Farrell

Winner: Emma Thomson Fraser – Various Sports – Faced numerous health challenges over the years, but continues to be a great role model for peers and took part in Secondary Sportshall Athletics Festival.

Also included in the top three were Corey Williamson and Jayden Mackintosh, both for various sports.

Triumph Over Adversity (Competition) – Sponsored by The Thistle and Rose Commandery, The Order of St George

Winner: Jack McKenzie – Athletics – Worked hard to be able to walk independently and came second in the FV Disability Sports 50m Frame Runner category. He then followed it up by completing the 60m walk/run independently without a frame.

Also included in the top three were Archie Shearer for athletics and Riley Marshall for boccia and swimming.

Coach of the Year (participation) – sponsored by Alloa and District Rifle Club

Winner: Raymond Henderson – Archery – Leads twice weekly sessions and does a huge amount behind the scenes, spending hours cutting the grass and setting up stands and targets. Delivers sessions to young people with a range of disabilities.

Also included in the top three were James Morris for football and Jane Scott for netball.

Junior School Sports Award – sponsored by Jan King

Winner: Ruaridh Mitchell – Athletics – Came first in his P6 age group during the Clacks PS Cross County Championships, also came first in the Clacks Schools Athletics Championships 800m.

Also included in the top four were Ben Ford for badminton, Holly Stevely for athletics and Isla Crichton for various sports.

Primary Young Leader – sponsored by Clackmannanshire Active Schools

Winner: Struan Mackie – Dodgeball – Helped deliver a dodgeball club for P3-P4 pupils, then set up his own club for P1-P2 age group.

Also included in the top four were Sanjai Sukumaran for various sports, Aria Findlay and Millie Cooper for badminton and Annabelle Corbet for various sports.

Senior Young Leader/Volunteer – Sponsored by Stephen Campbell

Winner: Gavin Miller – Various Sports – Supports Active Schools clubs, delivering athletics, tennis and dodgeball, spending over 200 hours per year on helping children with additional support needs.

Also included in the top three were Finlay McQuater and Seren McNaught, both for various sports.

Junior Sports Personality ­– Sponsored by the Alloa Advertiser

Winner: Lucy Macnair – Water Polo – top goal scorer in 2023 National League u19 Girls DWPC, various other water polo achievements and mentors and guides younger players. Involved with teams at British Water Polo League level.

Also included in the top three were Niamh Hunt for cricket and Calum Kettles for fencing.

Senior Sports Personality – Sponsored by Braveheart Clackmannanshire

Winner: Sandra Mitusch – Athletics – Selected for GB 4x200 relay team at Poland’s World Masters Indoors where the team won gold. She is currently top spot over 100m and 200m, 7th in Britain and 27th in world.

Also included in the top three were Sharon Crossan for hockey and Lucy Macnair for water polo.

Team of the Year – sponsored by Russel and Aitken

Winner: Alva Athletic Football Club – undefeated full domestic season and reached Scottish Amateur East of Scotland final on penalties. 2023 Stirling and District Amateur Football Association League champions – winning all four cups.

Also included in the top four were Clackmannanshire Volleyball Club – the Clackers and Alloa Unathletic and Sauchie Juniors FC 2010 Red.

Services to Sport – sponsored by Scottish Club Sport

Winner: Eddie Inglis – rugby – Involved with Hillfoots RFC for over 25 years, trained a number of Scottish internationals, served on the committee as secretary and president for over 20 years.